People of the Book

A friend of mine has been raving about this for ages, and I never thought it sounded interesting.  I mean, what do I care about the restoration of an old Hebrew book, right?  WRONG.  I picked this up as a Talking Book to listen to in the car on a whim, and found myself looking for excuses to get into the car and drive around, just so that I could hear more of the book. people-of-the-book-med

Hannah Heath is a rare books expert, called to Sarajevo.  Normally, she would steer well-clear of this war torn city, but the lure of the famous Haggadah proves too tempting.  Hannah inspects the book, and in pulling it apart, finds several traces that can fill her in on the book’s history; a white hair, a few flakes of salt, a wine stain.  And this is where the real genius of the novel begins.  Hannah’s story is interesting in itself, but it is interspersed with tales of the Haggadah – namely, how all those items got there.  These tales are beautiful, historically researched and so much more than simply following the book.  Each person responsible for one of the artefacts is truly envisaged and explored, even in such a short space.

This is the kind of book that you want to rave about to others – the book you want everyone to read and enjoy as well.  I have not enjoyed a book so much in a long time.

2 comments

  1. Hi… just happened across your blog and read your review. I’ve wondered about this book as well. I think I’ll give it a go. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Leave a comment